(Description of the Six Centres)

By Purnananda Swami

Page 3

The Svadhisthana Cakra

Verse 14


sauṣuṁņamadhyaghaṭitaṁ dhvajamūladeśe

Aṅgacchadaiḥ parivṛtaṁ taḍidābhavarņaiḥ

bādyaiḥ sabindu-lasitaiśca Puraṁdarāntaiḥ

There is another Lotus placed inside the Susumna at the root of the genitals, of a beautiful vermillion colour. On its six petals are the letters from Ba to Puramdara, with the Bindu superposed, of the shining colour of lightning.

Another lotus = the Svadhisthana-Cakra.

Puramdara = the letter La

Bindu = The Anusvara

Verse 15

Tasyāntre pravilasadviśadaprakāśa-

mambhojamaņdalamatho varuņasya tasya

Ardhendurūpalasitaṁ saradinduśubhraṁ

vaṁkārabijamamalaṁ makarādhirūḍhaṁ.

Within it [Svadhisthana] is the white, shining, watery region of Varuna, of the shape of a half-moon, and therein, seated on a Makara, is the Bija Vam, stainless and white as the autumnal moon.

Makara = mythical animal somewhat like an alligator

Verse 16

Tasyānkadeśakalito harireva pāyāt


Pītāmbaraḥ prathamayauvanagarvadhārī

śrīvatsakaustubhadharo dhṛtavedabāhuḥ.

May Hari who is within it, who is in the pride of early youth, whose body is of a luminous blue beautiful to behold, who is dressed in yellow raiment, is four armed, and wears the Sri-vatsa, and the Kaustubha, protect us!

Within it: Vishnu is within the lap of the Bindu of Vam.

Sri-vatsa = an auspicious curl on the breast of Visnu and his avatar, Krishna, which symbolizes Prakrti.

Kaustubha = a great gem worn by Vishnu.

Verse 17

Atraiva bhāti satataṁ khalu rākiņī sā




It is here [in the Svadhisthana] that Rakini always dwells. She is of the colour of a blue lotus. The beauty of Her body is enhanced by Her uplifted arms holding various weapons. She is dressed in celestial raiment and ornaments, and Her mind is exalted with the drinking of ambrosia.

Dwells = bhati, lit., “shines”

Verse 18

Svādhiṣṭhānākhyametatsarasijamamalaṁ cintayedyomanusya

stasyāhaṁkāradoṣādiksakalarepuḥ kṣīyate tatkṣaņena


gadyaih padyaiḥ parabhandhairviracayati sudhāvākyasandoha lakṣmiḥ.

He who meditates upon this stainless Lotus, which is named Svadhisthana, is freed immediately from all his enemies, such as the fault of Ahamkara and so forth. He becomes a Lord among Yogis, and is like the Sun illumining the dense darkness of ignorance. The wealth of his nectar-like words flows in prose and verse in well-reasoned discourse.

His enemies = the six passions, i.e., kama (lust), krodha (anger), lobha (greed), moha (delusion), mada (pride), matsaryya (envy), which all arise from a sense of me-ness (ahamkara).

Ahamkara = egoism.

Ignorance = moha.

Arthur Avalon, pseudonym of Sir John George Woodroffe (1865‒1936), was a British judge who lived and worked in India.

Related pages on this site


Read this as a book

The Serpent Power by Arthur Avalon

The Serpent Power: The Secrets of Tantric and Shaktic Yoga

By Arthur Avalon

This book contains meticulous, scholarly translations of two Tantric classics, Sat-Cakra-Nirupana and Paduka-Pancaka, along with copious notes and extremely lengthy explanations by Avalon.

Arthur Avalon was a pseudonym of Sir John Woodroffe, a British judge who lived in India.

This book is very dense and it contains an almost unbelievable amount of information. Although it’s old — it was first published in 1919 — nothing like it has been written before or since. It’s possible that this book contains more information about chakras and Kundalini than all other English books put together. But be warned: this is heavy book — heavy in every way — and not for casual reading.

Crystal, an Amazon reviewer, writes:

“What I appreciated most about this book first published in 1919 is Arthur Avalon (Sir John Woodroffe) takes great pains to stay true to the Sanskrit texts instead of reinventing them or overlaying them with his personal experiences, interpretations and thoughts. This book is a follow up/expansion on his previous book Shakti and Shakta and in retrospect I wish I had read it first, although it is not necessary as this book stands on its own. In the beginning of the book Avalon/Woodroffe takes to task some of the Westerners, most notably the Theosophical Society and Charles Leadbeater, which popularized their version/ideas about the 7 chakras in Western society. Avalon/Woodroffe felt they also popularized misconceptions or inaccuracies along with their ideas about the cakras/chakras. As the author prefers to let the texts speak for themselves most of the book is devoted to his translation of the texts and their description of the 6 cakras (chakras), their associations and powers. He also discusses kundalini and the rising of kundalini. Having said all this, the book is not an easy read. Avalon/Woodroffe uses many sanskrit terms and verses to keep to the actual text/meaning and while he does explain each and there are copius footnotes this will not be reading you can breeze through. I particularly enjoyed some of the verses.”

See it on Amazon.

This page was published on May 26, 2000 and last revised on January 11, 2018.


comments powered by Disqus