Byron Katie

Byron Katie

1946 –

Under construction.


Under construction.

Books by Byron Katie

Loving What Is (2002)
I Need Your Love — Is That True? (2005)
A Thousand Names for Joy (2007)
Question Your Thinking, Change the World (2007)
Who Would You Be Without Your Story? (2008)
Tiger-Tiger, Is It True? (2009)
Peace in the Present Moment (2010)

Pages About Byron Katie on this Site


A Thousand Names for Joy

Byron Katie's husband, Stephen Mitchell, explains that early in their marriage he used to read to her from great spiritual teachers like Lao-Tzu and the Buddha. She called these people "his dead friends." Katie would take in their words, sometimes nodding and saying "that's accurate." But occasionally, to his surprise, she corrected their statements with one of her own.

He believed that she was speaking as the peer of these ancient sages, as somebody who has had the same experiences and can speak about enlightenment with equal authority. Eventually Stephen decided to read to her his translation of the Tao Te Ching, all 81 chapters, and write down her responses. Those responses became the raw material for this book.

Where to Buy



A Thousand Names for Joy: Living in Harmony with the Way Things Are

Published by Three Rivers Press (2008)

304 pages

ISBN-10: 0307339246

ISSBN-13: 978-0307339249

This page was published on June 13, 2014.


comments powered by Disqus